[typo] rubyforge.org overloaded or what ?

Aaron Malone aaron at munge.net
Thu Dec 22 10:29:02 EST 2005

KubaTyszko wrote, On 12/22/2005 05:23 AM:
> here is header part of some mail:

I think you're disregarding the time zones.  I'm going to reverse the
headers below, since Received headers are read from the bottom up.

> Received: by wproxy.gmail.com with SMTP id i21so239646wra
>         for <typo-list at rubyforge.org>; Wed, 21 Dec 2005 15:00:53
>         -0800 (PST)

Gmail's outbound server picks up the message you've composed at around
23:00 GMT.

> Received: from wproxy.gmail.com (wproxy.gmail.com [])
>         by rubyforge.org (8.12.8/8.12.8) with ESMTP id jBLMoOe6023364
>         for <typo-list at rubyforge.org>; Wed, 21 Dec 2005 17:50:25
>         -0500

Rubyforge receives the message from Gmail at about 22:50 GMT (note that
we have gone back in time; someone's clock is a little off).

> Received: from rubyforge.org (localhost.localdomain [])
>         by rubyforge.org (8.12.8/8.12.8) with ESMTP id jBLMoQe9023369;
>         Wed, 21 Dec 2005 17:51:06 -0500

Rubyforge sends a new copy through the mailing list software one minute
later (22:51 GMT).

> Received: from rubyforge.org (dsl092-150-242.wdc2.dsl.speakeasy.net
> [])
>         by roztocze.com.pl (8.13.5/8.13.5) with ESMTP id jBLN4ZQu017578
>         for <kuba at lbl.pl>; Thu, 22 Dec 2005 00:04:36 +0100

You receive your copy at 23:04 GMT; approximately 13 minutes after it
was processed by the list, though it's hard to be precise because of
possible clock drift.

It's not instant, perhaps, but given the amount of traffic I expect they
have to deal with, it's certainly not bad.

Aaron Malone
aaron at munge.net

More information about the Typo-list mailing list